One step too far

August 26, 2006 at 4:31 pm (Uncategorized)

I give money by direct debit ever month to a handful of my favourite charities, one being the WWF who are now the latest victims of my forked tongue on this blog. I had a phone call the other day from a salesman who worked for a company who worked for the WWF “we are being paid to do this” he said. Which was a strange thing anyway, why would a charity be wasting their money in this way? I wasn’t happy from the start. The ‘cheekie chapie’ (who reminded me of the tiresome Syeed from The Apprentice) continued his rehearsed spiel about the work they were doing and wanted to know if I would basically give them £6 a month instead of three. I replied that no, as I want to give all the charities the same, plus I had just been to a Sea Life Centre and donated there for similar work they were doing. He replied “ok, well can you give £5 a month instead?” Did you listen to a word I just said? Sigh. Words are wasted on these idiots. And perhaps the WWF should concentrate on trying to attract new people to help them than mothering those who already do to death?

Leave a Reply

